Pain Management


As part of our commitment to education, the Emory Pain Center faculty and educators train multidisciplinary pain fellows wishing to get board certified in Pain Management. The Department of Anesthesiology Multidisciplinary Pain Fellowship Program at Emory is a 12-month program which admits five fellows per year.

Pain Fellowship Program Director: Dr. Anne Marie McKenzie - Brown

Accredited by: Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)

Duration of Program: One-year pain fellowship program

Positions Available: Five

Applicant Prerequisites:

Fellowship applicant must be a postgraduate physician eligible to undergo the examination and certification process of the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) or an equivalent board, or have completed the process and have been certified by the ABA or an equivalent board (such as Anesthesiology, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Neurology or Psychiatry)

Fellowship applicant must possess either a Georgia temporary training permit valid for one year or a Georgia state medical license to practice medicine.

Required documents to complete application file:

  • Fellowship online application
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • A personal statement
  • Dean’s letter
  • 3-4 Letters of recommendation (inclusive of a letter from current Program Director)
  • Copies of all board scores (ex. USMLE, COMLEX)
  • Copies of all in-training exam scores (ex. American Board of Anesthesiology ABA/ASA In-Training Examination reports; American Academy of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation Self Assessment reports
  • Copies of all diplomas (medical school, transitional/internship year, residency)
  • Copy of ECFMG certificate (if applicable)
  • Copy of Visa (if applicable)
  • Copy of ACLS & BLS certificates (updated certificates required at start of fellowship)