Emory Healthcare Leaders

Emory Healthcare leadership teams direct us in our mission to:

  • Provide unparalleled care to our patients
  • Improve the future of health care
  • Serve our community

Our leaders’ integrity and compassion are reflected throughout our organization.

Emory Healthcare board of directors

Our board of directors is made up of community leaders who are experts in health care and business. They provide valuable guidance that shapes the future of Emory Healthcare, ensuring outstanding care now and for many years to come.

Jonathan S. Lewin, MD, FACR
Executive Vice President for Health Affairs, Emory University
Executive Director, Woodruff Health Sciences Center
President, CEO, and Chairman of the Board, Emory Healthcare

J. David Allen, DDS
Dr. David Allen & Associates, Consultants to the Healthcare Industry

Ellen A. Bailey
Senior Principal, Midtown Consulting

Peter Barnes
Interim Executive Vice President for Business & Finance, Emory University

Donald Boykin

Donald Brooks
Owner, Don Brooks Real Estate

William A. Brosius
Formerly: VP and CFO, Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center, Houston Texas

Russell French
Retired Partner, Noro-Moseley Partners

Charles B. Ginden
Retired Executive Vice President, SunTrust Bank

Joseph Gladden
Retired, Executive Vice President and General Counsel, The Coca-Cola Company

John Glover
Retired Vice Chairman, Post Properties, Inc.

David M. Guidot, MD
Director, Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, & Critical Care Medicine
Director, Emory Alcohol and Lung Biology Center and Training Programs
Emory University School of Medicine

Ira Horowitz, MD, SM
Chair, Department of Gynecologyvand Obstetrics
Chief Medical Officer, Emory University Hospital
Associate Director, Emory Clinic

Theodore Johnson II, MD, MPH
Professor & Chief, Division of General Medicine & Geriatrics

Thomas McGahan, MD
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Digestive Diseases
Metro Atlanta Gastroenterology

George D. Overend
Owner & President, Overend & Company, Inc

Nancy S. Paris, MS, FACHE
President & CEO, Georgia Center for Oncology Research & Education

J. Neal Purcell
Retired Partner, KPMG LLP

Suresh S. Ramalingam, MD
Professor, Chief of Thoracic Oncology & Director, Medical Oncology

John G. Rice
President & CEO, General Electric Energy

David Stephens, MD
Interim Dean, Emory School of Medicine

Sam A. Williams
Retired President, Metro Atlanta Chamber of Commerce

Wendy L. Wright, MD, FCCM, FNCS
Chief of Neurology and Medical Director of the Neuroscience Critical Care Unit, Emory University Hospital Midtown

Executive Staff

Jonathan S. Lewin, MD, FACR
Executive Vice President for Health Affairs, Emory University
Executive Director, Woodruff Health Sciences Center
President, CEO, and Chairman of the Board, Emory Healthcare

Anne Adams, JD
Chief Compliance Officer, Emory Healthcare

Mary Beth Allen
Chief Human Resources Officer, Emory Healthcare

Jeff Baxter, JD
Chief Health Counsel

William A. Bornstein, MD, PhD
Chief Quality Officer & Chief Medical Officer

Donald I. Brunn
Senior Vice President of Network Development

Heather Dexter
Chief Executive Officer, Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital

Bryce Gartland, MD
Chief Executive Officer, Emory University Hospital, Emory University Orthopaedics & Spine Hospital, and Emory University Hospital at Wesley Woods

Maureen Haldeman
Interim Chief Operating Officer, Emory Clinic and Emory Specialty Associates

Heather Hamby
Interim President, Emory Clinic and Emory Specialty Associates

S. Patrick Hammond
Chief Executive Officer, Emory Healthcare Network
Chief Market Services Office, Emory Healthcare

James T. Hatcher, CPA
Chief Financial Officer, Emory Healthcare

Ira Horowitz, MD
Interim CEO of Emory Clinic

Shulamith Klein
Chief Risk Officer, Emory Healthcare

Marilyn Margolis
Chief Executive Officer, Emory Johns Creek Hospital

Dan Owens
Vice President of Operations, Emory University Hospital Midtown
Chief Executive Officer, Emory University Hospital Midtown

Sharon H. Pappas, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN
Chief Nursing Executive, Emory Healthcare

Dane Peterson
President, Emory Healthcare Hospital Group

Sheila Sanders
Interim Chief Information Officer